Your First Blog Post

When you start a WordPress blog, this is what shows up:

“This is your very first post. Click the Edit link to modify or delete it, or start a new post. If you like, use this post to tell readers why you started this blog and what you plan to do with it.” 

That’s great and all, but let’s be real: it’s kind of intimidating. Maybe I’m just not someone who loves starting new blogs. Just the idea of a totally blank canvas makes me squirm. I’ve started so many blogs and yet only one is still updated on a somewhat regular schedule. Yet here I am, starting another blog with another blank canvas.

Why? Well, because I haven’t found the information I want, so I guess it’s up to me to get it out into the world.

Let me back up a little bit. If you’re reading this, maybe you know me in real life and wanted to see what the heck I was up to now. More likely, though, you found it because something about this website appeals to you. Maybe you’re an entrepreneur – or want to be one – and maybe you’re in your 20s… but maybe you’re not. That’s okay, I don’t judge.

I’ve always been at least a little entrepreneurial. I wanted to sell greeting cards as a kid. My Barbies paid taxes and had jobs. I learned how to write checks at an abnormally young age, because it was fun and my parents let me have the fake checks they got sent (if you’re in your 20s at the time this post goes live, let me know if you remember them). I was all for lemonade stands and garage sales… the list goes on. Yet everything came back to one major problem.

I couldn’t get anyone else on board enough to actually go through with the things I wanted to do.

Oh, sure, we had garage sales. I did a couple lemonade stands. My Barbies still paid taxes, but that was just something I did on my own and it was wholly ignored by the friends I was playing with. Even as I’ve grown up and made objectively better friends, I’ve still found myself still mostly alone in my desire to do extra things. My best friends will cheer me on, but my projects don’t come first in their lives (which makes sense. Let’s not get crazy here), so when it really comes down to it, it’s just me. My parents are supportive – but they’re supportive of the normal 9-5 job with health insurance and a 401(k) plan. Anything else, from big purchases I make or side hustles I want to do, only gets support after I’ve proven that it’s not a huge mistake.

If that’s where you are right now, you’ve come to the right corner of the internet. When I first found myself both old and aware enough of what was going on, I started listening to podcasts, reading blogs, and then joining communities. Some are Facebook groups geared towards Etsy sellers and biz bosses, and some are membership communities like Listen Money Matters and Location Indie. At the point I’m writing this, I don’t know if I’ll ever do a paid membership community, but you (or, I, in this case) never know. If you’re reading this far in the future and it hasn’t happened yet, and you WANT it to happen, let me know.

I’m starting this blog – this website, or whatever this is – to figure out how to be an entrepreneur – and be successful – before I reach the age that is generally accepted for branching out and starting a business. I’m rejecting the idea that we have to work in a normal job for the first ten or so years after high school or university before becoming our own boss. I’m not settling for wasting my twenties stuck in an office (even if it’s an office I love, which mine is) when I want to be out writing and traveling and connecting with people who are doing this crazy thing too.

Something I should probably mention is that I’m not for a second saying that I don’t want to work. I’m not saying I want to play all day, every day, and have the easy life. If that’s why you’re here – to learn how to not have to go to a job or HAVE a job – you’re not going to find what you’re looking for. I’ve done that, which is a story for another day, and I’m not the kind of person who CAN do that.

So if you’re here for the right reasons, and if you resonated with anything I said here, let me know in the comments. Let’s talk – tell me what you’re doing now and what you’d rather be doing. If you’re already starting something, tell me! I’d love to check it out. Finally, if you’re totally on board and think some of your friends might be as well, send them my way. We don’t have to do this alone. The internet is a wide and wonderful place if you hang out in the right spaces, and together we can make this fun.


To find or follow me around the web, check out my about page for social media links and ways to get in touch.

Leave a Reply

